History Department Post-Tenure Review Committee Policy (Adopted and added to the Department Plan and Bylaws, April 3, 2024)

In accordance with the Faculty Handbook, the Department of History "shall have a PTR committee made up of at least three (3) tenured faculty members who will serve staggered, non-renewable, three (3) year terms." The ranking third-year member of the committee shall serve as the committee chair. At the beginning of each academic year, the Department Chair will hold an election from among the ranks of the tenured faculty to elect a faculty member to replace the outgoing PTR committee member as well as a one-year alternate. Any long-term vacancies occurring during an academic year shall be filled by election of the tenured faculty to serve out the remainder of the departing member's term. In the event of a short-term temporary vacancy involving no more than the current academic year, such a vacancy may be filled by appointment of the Department Chair.