I.G. Greer Distinguished Professorship Fund

Students from the class of 1916 established the I.G. Greer Distinguished Professorship Fund in 1966 as a memorial to their "teacher, counselor, and friend," Dr. Isaac "Ike" Garfield Greer. Dr. Greer was a native of Zionville, a town located only a few minutes from Boone, North Carolina. He taught history and government here at Appalachian State from 1910 until 1932.

That year, Dr. Greer left the university so he could work full-time as the General Superintendent of the Baptist Orphanage in Thomasville, North Carolina. In addition to being a renowned folklorist and bass guitar player, he served as the first President of the Allied Church League, the President of the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina, the President of the Southern Appalachian Historical Association, the President of the N.C. Folklore Society, and a member of the North Carolina General Assembly in 1926.

The I.G. Greer Distinguished Professorship Fund is awarded every three years to an outstanding full-time, History Department faculty member selected for their exemplary work in the classroom, research, and service.

Award Recipients:

  • Roy Carroll: 1977-1979
  • Lawrence Bond: 1979-1981
  • George Antone: 1981-1983
  • Ruby Lanier: 1983-1985
  • Richard Haunton: 1985-1987
  • Peter Petschauer: 1987-1989
  • Raymond Pulley: 1989-1991
  • Rennie Brantz: 1991-1993
  • David White: 1993-1995
  • Thomas Keefe: 1995-1997
  • Tim Silver: 1997-1999
  • John Williams: 1999-2001
  • Michael Wade: 2001-2003
  • James Winders: 2003-2005
  • Michael Krenn: 2005-2007
  • James Goff: 2007-2009
  • Jeff Bortz: 2009-2011
  • Lynne Getz: 2011-2013
  • Lucinda McCray: 2013-2015
  • Jari Eloranta: 2015-2018
  • Rene Harder Horst: 2018-2021
  • Jeremiah Kitunda: 2021-2024